Silver Bullet Gun Works is now proud to offer training & concealed carry classes (CCW)! Our instructor & range safety officers have a “Zero Stress” style that emphasizes a common sense approach to carrying and using firearms for personal protection. You wont find paramilitary tactics or jargon in our classes! Our goal is to make every single client comfortable from the classroom to the range and afterward. We strive to make our classes fun, interactive and informational!
We offer a range of classes from Basic Firearms Safety & Familiarization to Concealed Firearm Permits (CCW). Take a moment to look over the offerings below. Our regularly scheduled CCW classes for Nevada and Utah are typically held once a month. The classes are held separately on different days. The State of Nevada requires an eight hour class including a basic live fire range qualification to get a CCW permit. The State of Utah requires a four hour class with no range qualification.
We offer private CCW classes scheduled at your convenience too! Private classes are a great alternative for people with busy schedules or those that are more comfortable with one on one learning. They can be scheduled seven days a week with morning or afternoon start times. We can often even hold a private class with only a day or two notice, so just call and ask. Private classes can be held for two or more people as well, so if you have family or friends who want to take a class together, that's just fine too. Four or more people in a private class reduce the cost to the regular rate of $80 per person.
CCW Class Costs
Regular scheduled classes:
Nevada CCW- $80
Utah CCW- $50
2 Hour Safety Class- $25 (under 18 free with an adult)
Renewal Class- $50 (NV)
Minimum class size is four people, maximum is generally eight.
Nevada CCW- $130 (two or more people $100 ea)
Utah CCW- $80 (two or more people $70 ea)
4 hour Basic Pistol- $100 (two or more $80 ea)
Renewal Class- $80 (NV)
Other private instruction- $40 per hour, two hour minimum.
Please call the store at 775-331-8228 to schedule and pay for your class. We accept all major credit cards by phone, or you can visit the store and pay in person by cash or credit card. Classes are non-refundable, but are transferable and/or may be rescheduled.
We will contact you within 48 hours with details and payment options!
FAQ ABOUT CCW
What's in a CCW Class?
CCW classes are designed to teach you the legal and ethical considerations of defense and the use of deadly force. They are also cover topics like safe firearm handling & storage, different techniques for carrying a firearm, when and where you can legally carry, and basic shooting instruction like proper grip and how to draw & reholster. There is also a live fire range exercise where you demonstrate the skills you've just learned and shoot a large paper target.
How do I book a class?
Please call the store at 775-331-8228 to schedule and pay for your class. We accept all major credit cards by phone, or you can visit the store and pay in person by cash or credit card. Classes are non-refundable, but are transferable and/or may be rescheduled. You can also email us with questions or to check availability.
When can I book a private class?
Private classes can be scheduled seven days a week, on a first come, first served basis. Just give us a call or email with your requested dates & times.
What about the range qualification?
The range qualification is very basic and straightforward. Again, its not all about 'testing', its more about learning. The farthest you'll have to shoot a 'full size' target is about the distance across a two car garage. The closest you'll shoot the target is just a little more than arm's length. We're more interested in making sure you can handle and operate your gun safely then we are in seeing you hitting bull's eye's every time!
I've never shot a handgun, can I take the class?
Its probably not a great idea. CCW classes are about learning and demonstrating proficiency, so its assumed that you have at least a very basic level of experience. Just the basics of safety & a few hundred rounds of informal shooting with a knowledgeable friend should get you up to speed. We offer private lessons as well, and just a two hour private lesson before a CCW class is enough for most people.
Do I need my own gun?
Actually, no. Its always preferable that you have your own pistol that youve used and are familiar with, but if you're here from out of town, havent decided which gun is the best for you, or are borrowing one from a friend, thats all OK. Please let us know ahead of time if you need a loaner gun so we can accommodate you. If you are using one of our handguns, you'll also need to buy our ammunition for it.
What do I need to bring to the class?
We will provide you with a short list when you schedule the class, but to get you started: You'll need to bring something to drink and snacks or a lunch. Although we do take short breaks frequently, there isn't enough time for a full lunch break. Depending on the range we are using for qualification, dress appropriately for the weather we're expecting. A light jacket is always a good idea, even in summer. Personal safety equipment is also required. That means hearing and eye protection, closed toe shoes (NO flip flops or sandals) and a hat is a good idea. You'll also need a sturdy belt to hold your holster properly, so sweat pants or workout clothes generally don't work well.
How much ammo do I need?
Generally one box of 50 rounds is enough, but its not a bad idea to bring more. Shooting is fun! If you are using a semi auto pistol that uses magazines, you only need one but more are better.
What about holsters?
It is required that you have a quality made (preferably leather, kydex or hard plastic) outside-the-waist belt holster. Thin inexpensive fabric holsters are often floppy and loose fitting, this will make your range time more difficult. Remember, your holster is something that is going to get a lot of use. Expect to pay $30-60 for a good one. As a general rule of thumb, you should be able to draw and easily reholster your handgun using only one hand. If your holster needs both hands, its probably not adequate for the class. Pocket, Purse, Ankle, “Belly band”, “Clip draw”, “Bra holsters”, Shoulder, Small of Back holsters and Vests are prohibited at the range for safety reasons. If you dont have a holster yet, contact us before the class and we will see if we stock one in store or can get you a loaner for your gun type.
What kind of gun do I need?
Its usually best to bring the gun you plan to carry. If you own several handguns, pick the one you are most comfortable shooting. There are no requirements as to type, size, caliber or capacity. Your firearm must be in good working order and function as it was originally designed. Broken or intentionally disabled safety devices, “hair triggers” and competition style 'race guns' are prohibited for safety reasons.
Can I shoot reloaded ammunition?
We do allow factory reloaded ammunition on the range. Factory reloaded ammunition will be boxed and labeled by a licensed manufacturer. We do NOT allow miscellaneous or at-home hand loaded ammunition for liability reasons.
Can I open carry my gun to the class?
No! For safety and liability reasons, students are prohibited from bringing firearms or live ammunition into the classroom. Please lock your firearm (preferably in a case) in the trunk of your car prior to arriving at the class. If you have a special circumstance regarding the safe storage of your firearm (like you are being dropped off, ride a motorcycle, etc), contact the instructor prior to the class. Please make sure that any magazines are also unloaded as we will begin at the range with only one or two rounds in your magazines. Once again, no live ammunition or firearms are allowed in the classroom!
I don't live in Nevada, I'm just visiting. Can I take the class?
Yes! Nevada and Utah both offer CCW permits to all out of state residents. Your CCW is valid while in Nevada just the same as if you lived here. Non-Resident permits are honored by most states that Nevada and Utah reciprocate with, but laws change frequently so you should verify right before you travel.
What if I dont have all the stuff I need?
We realize that this can be an expensive affair, especially if you are new to shooting. We also know that if you're new, you might not know exactly what to get! We will do our best to help you with any equipment that you dont have or forget. The most important thing for us is communication! Let us know in advance if you're missing anything listed here, and we will do our best to accommodate you.
How do I know if the State will issue me a CCW?
Nevada and Utah are “shall issue” states. This means that applicants do not have to show a “need” in order to get a CCW. Successful completion of the class and passing your background check are all it takes. CCW's are issued to Nevada residents and residents of all 50 states. Generally, as long as you pass your background check to buy a gun, you will also pass to get a CCW. Please note that if you have been convicted of DUI within the past five years, you are not eligible to apply for a CCW in the State of Nevada. Please direct any specific personal legal questions to your attorney or the Washoe County Sheriff's Office at (775) 328-3348. We cannot provide personal legal advice or verify that you can or cannot qualify for a CCW.
If you have any other questions or want to discuss classes, please contact the shop at 775.331.8228!